My Secret Beauty Aid-Coconut Oil

I’m sure you have all heard a lot of talk about the great benefits of coconut oil. I heard a lot of stuff too but never knew how much I would grow to love it until I started using it. Below is a list of some of the ways I use this versatile oil allowing me to save money (because it replaces several beauty products) and do something great for my skin. Bear in mind that any mention to coconut oil in this post refers to 100% organic, unrefined, extra virgin coconut oil. If your oil does not smell of coconut, it is probably refined and more suitable for cooking but loses a lot of the benefits it contains naturally. (All products mentioned and opinions are my own).

1. Make up remover. Coconut oil is amazing at dissolving makeup and, because it contains no chemicals, it can be used on the eye area as well. Take some coconut oil onto a cotton round, or clean fingers, and rub/wipe your entire face. Once you have done so you can wash off the oil with the cleanser of your choice. Warm water works best as coconut oil melts at 76 degrees fahrenheit making it easier to remove in warm water.

2. Facial Moisturizer- Coconut oil is very rich is nutrients for the skin. If you have acne, don’t worry, coconut oil is antibacterial which means it actually helps treat and prevent acne. I was afraid that if I used oil, on my already oily skin, that it would trigger a break out…but it didn’t! Our bodies actually can produce more oil as a response to the drying ingredients in acne medication. By applying coconut oil on the face, the skin no longer needs to counteract the dryness. It also is great for anti-aging as it deeply hydrates the skin.

3. Body Moisturizer- Just as coconut oil is beneficial to the face, it is beneficial to the skin. You can replace your body lotions with coconut oil. Once absorbed into the skin, you will feel the skin moisturized and delicately scented of coconut. Just keep in mind that a little goes a long way, both on the face and on the body. If you apply too much, you might feel a little bit greasy.

4. Hair Conditioner/Leave in Conditioner- Now don’t go crazy applying a huge palmful of coconut oil to your hair in the shower. It is best used as a treatment in which you can coat your hair with the oil, let is sit for 20-30min and then shampoo and condition as usual, or for smoothing dry hair by getting a small amount of oil in your hands, rubbing your palms together and applying as you would argon/moroccan oil. Again, a little goes a long way, too much and your hair will be crazy greasy.

5. Deodorant- You read correctly! What makes us smell when we sweat is not the sweat in itself but the bacteria in our underarms. Coconut oil is antibacterial in nature which allows it to reduce the odor causing bacteria that makes us smell when applied to the underarms. I find that coconut oil is not enough for me so I mix about 3 tablespoons of the oil with 3 tablespoons of baking powder and a few drops of lavender and/or tea tree oil. This combination works better for me than actual deodorant. Keep in mind though, it is a deodorant not an antiperspirant so even though it helps reduce odor, it does nothing to help reduce actual sweat.

There are plenty of more uses for coconut oil (I have even read of using it instead of toothpaste and as a sunscreen) that extend to the kitchen as well (for cooking, baking, greasing, etc). I encourage you guys to research on your own and see what benefits coconut oil may have to offer you.

Below are the two brands I have most recently used. I have also used the Spectrum brand in the past. I find that they all work well and I just buy what is available, and hopefully on sale, at the moment. I like to keep one container in the kitchen for cooking needs and one container in the bathroom for beauty needs.

20140323-205924.jpg

20140323-205941.jpg

Leave a Reply

