My Nighttime Routine-Facial Care (drugstore & DIY)

Hello Peeps! Happy Friday to you all! In sequence with last week’s post, today, I will be talking (or typing, really) about what I do at night. Before I have the chance to ramble, let’s get this party started!

Step 1-Makeup Removal
IMG_3598.JPG

If you have read my previous posts, you know I have used several different makeup remover wipes. These, by far, are my favorite. This brand is the generic at BJs Wholesale Club. It comes in a pack of 150 wipes for $11-$12! Each pack has 4 -30 wipe packs and 2-15 wipe travel packs (that adds up to 150 right???). You guys know I am not a fan of the resealable sticker because I feel that the last few wipes are always too dry to work effectively…not a problem with THESE wipes though! I’m on my second pack right now and loving them!

IMG_3605.JPG

My favorite feature on these wipes is that they are quilted on one side. This provides just enough texture to really remove the makeup without scratching/irritating the face.

Step 2-Cleanse

IMG_3599.JPG

Nothing fancy here, just my trusty Neutragena Naturals cleanser. This will help eliminate anything the wipes left behind (which is close to nothing, see below).

Step 3- Tone

IMG_3600.JPG

Restoring pH balance to the skin is so important, especially if you have acne prone skin. I didn’t want to buy a product that would just add more chemicals to my skin so I made my own toner with 2 parts water and 1 part Apple Cider Vinegar. I keep it in a spray bottle and just spray it onto a cotton pad and wipe my face with it.
By the way, just to show you guys how well the makeup remover wipes work, I took a picture of the cotton pad I used to tone my face just after the makeup wipe without washing my face in between.

IMG_3606.JPG

IMG_3638.JPG

IMG_3649.JPG
You can see that the cotton pad hardly has any makeup residue on it! I have noticed really great improvements with my skin since I began toning with ACV. I think anyone with acne would benefit from it, I know I did!

Step 4- Treat

IMG_3601.JPG

For those scattered pimples/spots, I apply Tea Tree Oil directly on the affected area. Oil under makeup isn’t a good mix, that’s why I save this step for night time. Also, skin is more receptive at night so it is the best time to treat it for any condition (acne, dryness, wrinkles, etc). I prefer to use this essential oil to treat my acne because I really want to avoid any more chemicals on my skin, especially with the acne treating products which can be so harsh. This is a natural, yet very effective alternative.

Step 5- Moisturize

IMG_3602.JPG

For the same reason above, I prefer to make my own eye serum, which is what you see here. Basically, I added drops of lavender and german chamomile essential oils into a mix of equal parts of avocado oil, sweet almond oil and jojoba oil with vitamin E. I put the mixture in this glass dropper bottle and use just one drop per eye to moisturize the under eye, lid/brow area at night. If you guys recall, I had been having dry, flaky skin in my under eye and eyelid/brow area. It had improved since I began using this serum at night. To moisturize the face, I just use a very small amount of organic, unrefined coconut oil in the areas needed.

Step 6- Night night!

At this point, I braid my hair and hit the bed.

I hope you guys have found this useful. Please do try the Apple Cider Vinegar toner for yourselves, it is so cheap to make and so good for your skin. The eye serum is a bit more complex because you want to pick essential oils suitable for your skin type.

Have a great weekend and please let me know if you have a favorite item you use in your nighttime routine.

*all items were purchased with my own money. Not a sponsored post*

Leave a Reply

