D.I.Y- Natural Flaxseed Hair Gel!

Happy Friday gorgeous peeps!

So I was watching videos on Youtube when I came across a video about Flaxseed Hair Gel. I had no idea hair gel could be made at home! I was so intrigued, I kept looking up videos about it and decided to give it a try.

Today was my first time using it so I haven’t quite figured out how to best use it (in terms of amount). However, I did take several pictures throughout the day to show you how it held up.

Let’s get started by showing you how I made the gel. Disclaimer: this is not for those easily grossed out by funky textures. This gel looks pretty much like mucous, doesn’t smell all that pleasant, and must be kept cold, and therefore, applied cold. (Cold mucous…ewwww)!

THINGS YOU WILL NEED

A small pot
A measuring cup
Natural Brown Flax Seeds ( I used 1/4 cup)
Water (I used 1-3/4 cups)
A strainer (or old pantyhose-yes, it works the same)
A heat resistant container with lid
Any essential oil of your choice (optional)

Steps

1. Place your flaxseeds and water into the pot/sauce pan

2015/01/img_5100.jpg

2. Bring to a boil. You will notice froth beginning to form.

2015/01/img_5101.jpg

3. Once boiling, turn the heat down to medium-low and stir constantly. You will notice the water turning an “egg white” consistency. Keep doing so for about 7 minutes or until the liquid becomes really thick.

2015/01/img_5102.jpg

4. Take your heat resistant container and add in essential oil drops of your choice. I used a recycled candle jar:

2015/01/img_5103.jpg
And added about 5-7 drops of lavender oil

2015/01/img_5104.jpg

5. Place your strainer/sieve over your lid, slowly pour the mixture through while stirring the mixture as it falls in the strainer. Doing this slowly will help you get the most product out, as it is very thick and difficult to strain all at once.

2015/01/img_5105.jpg

2015/01/img_5106.jpg

6. Mix very well, with a whisk if possible, to combine thoroughly with essential oils. This is what mine looked like.

2015/01/img_5107.jpg

2015/01/img_5108.jpg

7. Set aside to cool. Cover and refrigerate. This gel can be kept in the fridge for up to 3 weeks; maybe longer if preservative oils (such as vitamin E) are added.

That’s it! We have now made our first batch of gel and flaxseeds may be stored in the fridge for later consumption (no waisting here!).

Here is what I did on my hair today.

2015/01/img_5111.jpg

I washed my hair and towel dried it. I pulled out the gel from my fridge and noticed it was even thicker than the night before when it was made. This gel is really cold and really gross lookingso just try to get past it.

I rubbed the gel in between my palms, as I would any other gel, and raked it through my hair. Here you can see, the right side (my left side) has the gel applied.

2015/01/img_5112.jpg

This is what it looked like after I applied it all over my hair:

2015/01/img_5119.jpg

2015/01/img_5116.jpg

I then smoothed the top of my hair back with my fingers and applied some more gel.

2015/01/img_5122.jpg

2015/01/img_5151.jpg

As it dried, I could feel it harden, the way regular gel would, but without being as stiff. After about an hour, this is what my hair looked like:

2015/01/img_5157.jpg
At this point, I added some extra around the sides as it was starting to frizz.

Here is a pic a few hours later, while at work:

2015/01/img_5160.jpg

2015/01/img_5162.jpg

At the end of the day, roughly 10 hours after application:

2015/01/img_5179.jpg

2015/01/img_5184.jpg

2015/01/img_5183.jpg

It is important to note that I have not trimmed my hair in about 9-10 months, so a lot of what you see is actually split ends- not frizz. Also, I wear a jacket throughout the day at work and that creates more friction between my hair, the sweater and the back of my office chair. I allowed my hair to air dry throughout the day. Diffusing is not recommended as the gel would get all over your diffuser and would not be easily removed (so I have read, anyway).

Final Verdict

I like this gel! It did give plenty of hold without making my hair stiff. The top part of my head stayed smooth all day with no fly-aways or frizz. Despite all the friction, my hair had zero flaking from the gel and felt soft at the end of the day, not dry or brittle.

I found that this gel is cheap to make, easy to use and works really well. I didn’t like the smell nor how uncomfortable it is to put your hand into this cold gel every time you need to use it. I have seen videos with people putting it into spray bottles so I might try that instead. The smell does not linger, which is also a plus.

The pros out-way the cons for me, especially since it is as natural as hair gel can get! Pretty much just flaxseeds and water!

Have you guys used this gel before? Give it a shot! Plenty of recipes on the internet. Let me know how it goes. Leave me a comment if you have any questions or letting me know if you like this kind of DIY posts.

I will be reviewing the E.l.F. Lip exfoliator soon (think I might make that a bonus post this weekend).

*All products and opinions are my own. Not a sponsored post*

3 thoughts on “D.I.Y- Natural Flaxseed Hair Gel!

Leave a Reply

