Product Review: Alaffia Good Soap

Happy Sunday Peeps!

    So I’m not a big fan of bar soaps, in general. I absolutely love the Almond Delicious one from L’Occitane as well as their huge Olive oil and lavendar one (sadly discontinued), but those are rare treats. I’m much more of a shower gel and loofah gal. That being said, I took a walk down the Whole Foods Bar Soap section and was completely enchanted by their selection.

For Valentine’s Day, they were having a special on the Alaffia good soaps in which a set of 3 was just $5. I simply couldn’t resist. 

  

The 3 scents in this set where Wild Prairie Rose, Strawberries and Champagne and Dark Chocolate Black Soap (very VDay themed). As you can tell in the picture above, I couldn’t wait to try these and took one to my shower immediately!

Each one of these soaps is made with Fair Trade Shea Butter and have a mild scent, nothing too strong that would linger on the skin or interfere with perfume. I started using the Wild Prairie Rose one first. It created a very nice lather without having to use a lot of the product. Again, the scent was very soft and left my skin smelling clean but not as if I had bathed in rose cologne. The best part…my skin did not feel dry! I cant say that I would forgo moisturizer after using this soap but it definitely did not leave my skin feeling dry and tight. Another awesome feature…it lasted me a whole month and I was using this bar soap, exclusively, every day!

   I was satisfied enough with the first soap that I immediately moved on to the next once the first one was finished.

  

  This is the Strawberries and Champagne scent. The little specks you see are actually strawberry seeds.

  

Here you can see the seeds a little better. It doesn’t look like much but there are actually a lot of seeds in this bar soap that have an exfoliating affect on your skin. They are super small but there are enough of them to provide a gentle exfoliation. I started using this particular bar 2 1/2 weeks ago and still have about half the bar left (I have used shower gel a couple of times during the past couple of weeks). I have yet to try the Dark chocolate one but, if it follows the trajectory of the first two, I’m sure I’ll love it.

Bottom line, these soaps are good! I really like how they lather without being harsh or drying to my skin. I also love how they have a soft scent to them. I feel like I am getting clean without so much artificial stuff in my soap without having to sacrifice the lather. For the price, I think it is an excellent choice as most of the artisan soaps can cost as much for one bar as I paid for this set of 3. 

  Though these particular scents may have been seasonal, and no longer available, my eyes have been opened to the Alaffia company and I look forward to trying other soaps and products (they make hair care and skin care products as well) and I encourage you guys to do the same.

I hope everyone has had a nice Easter/Passover/Sunday. Have you used an Alaffia products before? Tell me about it, I would love to hear your experience. See you guys next week!

*All products and opinions are my own. Not a sponsored post*

2 thoughts on “Product Review: Alaffia Good Soap

Leave a Reply

