Product Review: OGX Kukui Oil Shampoo & Conditioner

As much as I love my TIGI Resurrection Shampoo and Conditioner, I was running out of both and I wanted to try something new before deciding to spend the money on replenishing the Resurrection. 

I decided to try the OGX (Formerly Organix) Hydrate + Defrizz Kukui Oil Shampoo and Conditioner. At $7.99 a piece at Kmart, they were much cheaper than the Resurrection, although smaller in size. I really liked the smell and the consistency of both of these.

Shampoo

 Very creamy and produces good lather. It does not make my hair feel more moisturized but it doesn’t make it feel dry either. I really liked the consistency and how well it lathered; but I was expecting to already feel a difference in my hair when I rinsed it out and didn’t fell anything. 

Conditioner

Very thick and rich; which I prefer. I always try to choose conditioners that are thick enough to not fall of my hand if I hold my hand upside down with the conditioner on it. This one passed the test. It provides good slip and allows for easy detangling. However, once I rinsed it out, I was a little disappointed in how my hair felt. For a product that says “hydrate + defrizz” I was expecting more. Its not that my hair felt dry, but its was not remarkably hydrated either. It did not feel any softer or smoother.

   
Sulfate Free Shampoo

 

(Passes the upside down test)  

Final Verdict

I think these products are better suited for wavy hair or thick, straight hair with minimal frizz, but I did not find them moisturizing enough to say they would be great for curly, frizzy hair. I like the smell and consistency of both products but don’t find that they did enough for my hair to continue using on a daily basis. I have used the conditioner in a spray bottle mixed with water and I did like to use it as a leave-in conditioning spray, for the ends of my hair, on second day hair when I want to refresh my curls. The shampoo also makes an amazing shower gel that does not dry out my skin. I really like the scent if this line and don’t feel they were such bad products that I would prefer to throw them away; I just don’t think they were what I wanted for MY hair.

Have you used this product before? Have you used any other Organix/OGX products? What did you think? Let me know in the comments below!

* Opinions and products are my own. Not a sponsored post*

Leave a Reply

