Product Disappointments 

Hello Beautiful People!

I hope you have all had a nice weekend.

As much as I love trying out new products; it gets disappointing when some of them just don’t work out. Sometimes, even products that youtubers, bloggers and other consumers rave about, just don’t perform the same on everybody. I decided to gather up some of my own product disappointments and share them with you guys. Maybe someone else out there shares the same disappointment, maybe someone else absolutely loves what didn’t work out for me, maybe someone else has a better way of using the product that gets better results! 

Here are my current disappointments:


ELF’s Brightening Eye Pencil in Coffee

   
 

A while back ago, I made a post stating that this eye pencil had a great swatch on my hand but did not show up on my actual eyelid. Not much has changed since that post. I tried it with primer, without primer, on my water line and on my lash line. There was just no way of getting this color to show up on my eyes!

ELF’s Jumbo Eyeshadow Stick in Turkish Coffee

   
   

I wanted something quick to throw on my lids for busy mornings that would still have some impact. This eyeshadow stick has beautiful color and was very easy to apply. There were two things that totally ruined it for me: 1-it became very sheer when blended, 2-it creased like you would not believe. I’m talking about 4 minutes after having applied it. Even after setting it with powder and using primer. Granted, I have naturally creased eyelids, but I definitely don’t want a product that is going to emphasize that. 

Burt’s Bee’s Jumbo Lip Crayon in Carolina Coast

   

 Beautiful Nudey/Pink color. Moisturizing formula with great ingredients. What could go wrong? It was very streaky on my lips. Regardless if I used a lip balm first or applied it straight or if my lips were dry or freshly exfoliated, I could not get an even application. It was such a nice formula and pretty color but no can do on the streaky lips.

ELF’s Lip Stain and Gloss in Heartbreaker 

   

  I feel bad that most of my disappointments have been from ELF because I actually like a lot of there stuff.  I was really excited to try this lip stain as I was using the Revlon ones and wanted a cheaper alternative. This totally did not work out. Super streaky formula. The gloss part of it was fine on its own but I just could not make the stain work. I tried applying more than one layer (allowing it to dry in between layers) to see if it would build opacity but it just made it worse.

Maybelline’s Fit Me Concealer in Sand

   

 I know, I know, its sacriligious to say this product was a disappointment but it totally was! I see so many people rave about this concealer but I just don’t share the same experience. The consistency was just off, it did not blend out well and did not provide much coverage under the eyes. I liked it a little better as a spot concealer but otherwise, it was just “meh” to me. I tried blending it with my fingers, with a brush, with a damp beauty blender…you name it. No luck!

Rimmel’s Exaggerate Eyeshadow Primer 

 This was one of the first eyeshadow primers I ever tried.  I liked that it is white and helped the pigmentation of some eyeshadows show up more. However, it felt harder to blend eyeshadows over this primer, I felt like I was dragging or pulling the brush across my lid when I used this. It didn’t extend the wear of my shadows or stop creasing either.

There you have it. Have you guys tried any of these? Did you have any better luck? What product are you most disappointed in and why? Let me know in the comments, I would love to see if it is just me or if I can find some solidarity out there 🙂

Have a great week!

Stay Awesome,

Jocey

*All products and opinions are my own. Not a sponsored post*

Leave a Reply

