Product Review: Maybelline Brow Drama

Hello beautiful peeps. I hope you are all well today. I have a confession to make…I caved in! I saw reviews on brow gels everywhere. I couldn’t really be bothered with them because, honestly, my brows don’t need to be held in place all day. They are pretty obedient, for the most part, and I only used clear mascara whenever I really needed to set them. 

The prospect of having a product that would give me a more filled in brow look, without the commitment to actually fill them in, called my attention. In my mind, brows are one feature on the face that deserve attention even on no-makeup days. At the very least, a comb through with a spooly. However, if I didn’t want to wear makeup, but wanted my brows to look nice, I didn’t like the way filling them in made me look. I felt like there was too much contrast between no make up on my face and yet completely filled in brows. It’s like I couldn’t commit to finishing the rest of my face. 

I thought a nice, tinted brow gel would be a good compromise. Originally, I wanted to try the one from NYX but that was not available so I tried this instead. Here is how I got on with it:

   I opted for the darkest color as my brows are pretty dark.  
The wand looks like a funky mascara wand where most of the product sits on the end versus on the actual bristles. The bristles, by the way, are very rigid and wiry. They don’t hold much product as you can see in this blurry pic.

  
My eyebrow with zero product

  
My eyebrow with copious amounts of this brow gel. It looked pretty much the same as with no product when I first swiped it on so I swiped it again, and again. Eventually, I dabbed the end of the wand on my eyebrow and then combed it through to get this much product.

  
This is how much product comes off from the brush once I dabbed the end of it on my hand and then brushed it through.
I was very disappointed by this. I knew that it was not going to magically fill in my brows, but I expected a little more. Not wanting to give up, I decided to try the brow gel in combination with my brow powder.

 

With brow gel only
  
With brow powder over the gel

 
With brow gel OVER the brow powder

  
 On the bright side, this works great as a brow gel. It definitely sets your brows and it will hold all day. Unfortunately, I don’t care for stiff brows on a daily basis to make this product worth it for me. 

I also don’t like that I really had to pack on product to have it show up. I paid about $8 for this at my local CVS, which is not a bad price if it were something I was going to use all the time. Instead, I am left thinking “I should have just waited to find the NYX one!”

Do you guys have a drugstore tinted brow gel that you love? Please share with me in the comments; I’d like to try them!

Stay Awesome Peeps,

Jocey

Follow me on Twitter

@joceysbeauty

*All products and opinions are my own. Not a sponsored post*

5 thoughts on “Product Review: Maybelline Brow Drama

  1. Hey πŸ™‚

    First of all, thank you for this review – I’ve been looking for this product a lot, as I’ve heard so many people praising it. Oh, wow, that’s disappointing…
    Will definitely not be getting it…
    I’ve actually been trying to get into brow makeup, as I suck at that! (Meaning I don’t do them at all) And I don’t have ‘a lot’ of them either, sooo.. yeah.. πŸ˜€

    Lovely review!

    xx

    1. Thank you so much for reading!
      I hate when hyped up products don’t work out.
      I will have a better brow product coming up soon.
      On the bright side, drugstore makeup doesn’t tend to break the bank so experimentation is way cheaper than high end. I hope you find something you like πŸ™‚

  2. Thanks for the review. Like you, I’ve used clear mascara in the past on my brows. I normally use a black eye shadow as a brow filler, and have that same issue if I don’t wear any other makeup. Based on your review, I will pass on the Maybelline brow gel. Thanks again!

    1. Thank you for reading!
      As dark as my eyebrows are, i find the black eyeshadow is just too dark and my brows look more natural with a brown shadow that is a shade or two lighter than my actual color.
      I’ll keep me eyes out for a better tinted brow gel. Let me know if you know of a good one!

Leave a Reply

