DIY Natural Facial Moisturizer (Acne/Combination Skin)

Welcome back peeps! Thanks for hanging out with me on this beautiful Autumn Sunday 🙂

You can scroll down to the recipe and totally skip this next part 😉

I don’t know about you guys but I struggle trying to find the right moisturizer for my face. I have combination oily/normal/dry skin and it is hard to find a moisturizer that is suitable for all areas of my face. Especially when the oiliest part is also the part that flakes…yep, the opposite of dry skin is moisturized skin, not oily skin, so I have that going on.

Even if I find a moisturizer that I want to try, I get discouraged when I read the ingredients and realize they are full of chemicals, parabens, phthalates, etc  😖

The more natural options also tend to be way more expensive. Out of my frustration, I began Googling DIY facial moisturizers and played around with different recipes until I found something I liked. I have been making different varieties of this same moisturizer for about 4 months and I probably won’t buy a store bought moisturizer ever again.

Making my own allows me to customize the ingredients to whatever my skin needs at the time. It is chemical free, cruelty free, vegan and awesome. This is a gel type moisturizer so it is clear in color and kind of goopy but gets absorbed into the skin nicely without leaving an oily residue despite having lots of different oils as ingredients. Keep in mind that you can always use less than what I used and add more oils later if you wish. The base ingredients can be used for any skin type. The optional ingredients I used today are geared more towards acne-prone and scarred skin.

Lets Get Started!

You will need:

    
  Base Ingredients 
-3 Tablespoons of Aloe Vera Gelly (for a thicker cream) or Aloe Inner Fillet (for a thinner cream). I use Lilly of the Dessert brand. Aloe is a great moisturizer for the skin.

-10 drops of Vitamin E oil. I use Jāsön brand. (You can start with 5 drops if you want this to be less oily). Vitamin E helps preserve this moisturizer but also helps moisturize and heal the skin.

-10 drops of Sweet Almond Oil. I use Hobé Naturals. (Again, you can start with 5 drops). Also helps to moisturize but tightens the skin as well.

-1 jar/container to store your moisturizer (I used an empty one I had) 

Optional: 

You can use any combination of oils that suit your skin. Here is what I used.

-10 drops of Pure Rosehip Seed Oil. I use Life-flo brand. Rosehip seed oil is great for hyperpigmentation and uneven skin tone.

-Essential oils of your choice. I used 3 drops of Tea Tree oil (for acne fighting) , 3 drops of German Chamomile oil (for reducing redness) and 3 drops of Rose Absolute oil (for toning and astringing).

Instructions:

     

1- Add 3 Tablespoons of Aloe to your jar. I used 2 tablespoons of the inner filet and 1 tablespoon of aloe gelly (which is actually clear but the bottle is tinted yellow). In the past, I have used just the aloe gelly and it makes a nice, thicker consistency moisturizer. It just depends on your preference.
  

2-Add in your Vitamin E oil and Sweet Almond oil. At this point, you can just give this a good mix with a plastic or wooden stirrer/spoon/knife and your base moisturizer is ready to go!

I added:
  

Rosehip Seed Oil 

  

German Chamomile 

  

And Rose Absolute. These oils are naturally colored and will give some color to your finished moisturizer without any artificial dyes.

Mix everything up and Voilà!

 

Here is what the finished moisturizer looks like. This will keep for over a month due to the Vitamin E that helps to preserve the ingredients. You could also keep this in the fridge if you prefer a cold gel to help de-puff. With daily use, this recipe should last for about a month. A little goes a long way. 

To Use:

You can use just one dab and dot on your forehead, chin and cheeks and rub it in to cover your whole face. I actually use 2 dabs and sometimes 3 when I use this on my neck and décolletage. 

Some of you might be wondering why I did not use coconut oil. I left it out of this recipe because it becomes solid at 76° F and most of you are well below that this time of year. I have, however, used it during the summer in this recipe and it worked great!

Have you guys ever tried to make your own facial moisturizer? What did you use? I also have a DIY 2 ingredient face primer recipe that I might post next week. Let me know what you guys think! 

Stay Awesome Peeps,

Jocey

Follow me on Twitter

Add me on BlogLovin’ 

Follow me on Instagram 

*Not Sponsored. All products and opinions are my own.*

5 thoughts on “DIY Natural Facial Moisturizer (Acne/Combination Skin)

Leave a Reply

