Food Blog: Coconut Chicken Strips!

Hi Peeps!

As I mentioned on my last short blurb on Sunday, here I am with a bonus post. I haven’t done a food blog in a while so it just seemed appropriate.

Here is a quick and yummy snack/meal that is a much healthier alternative to traditional breaded and/or fried chicken. You can adjust this for as many servings as you’d like.

Ingredients:

1- Skinless Chicken  breast or boneless/skinless chicken thigh cut into strips.

1/4 cup of coconut flour

2-3 Tablespoons of your favorite seasoning mix ( I use MSG free Adobo but you can use just salt & pepper).

Coconut Oil/Olive Oil/Cooking Spray

Optional-Unsweetned Shredded Coconut (2-3 Tablespoons)

Steps

1. Line a baking sheet with parchment foil, aluminum foil or a silicone mat and grease it with your choice of coconut oil, olive oil or cooking spray. I use coconut oil.

2. Pre-heat your oven to 350°

3. Mix the coconut flour, shredded coconut and seasoning in a bowl or on a plate.

4. Cut your chicken into strips, dredge the chicken in the flour mixture and place on your baking sheet.
  

5. Bake for 15-20min on each side.

This is how they look when they are done.

You can eat these as is or dip them into ketchup. I prefer to mix some honey and mustard together and use that as a dipping sauce.

Served alone, they are a tasty snack. Serve with a side of veggies and you got a pretty good meal. You can make these as healthy as possible by using organic chicken, organic coconut flour and just salt & pepper (instead of Adobo). If you are in a greater hurry, you can turn up the oven temperature to 400°-425° and bake the chicken for 10-15 minutes on each side (of course it helps to cut the strips thinly) but you would need to grease your baking sheet with an oil that has a higher smoke point.

I know it has gotten controversial NOT to be vegan/vegetarian but I just don’t do well without some animal protein in my diet. I do try to purchase my meats and eggs from responsible and humane farmers.

I hope you guys enjoyed this post and I do hope you will try it. Its a great alternative to chicken nuggets made with questionable blended parts, processed breading and deep fried in God knows what.

Stay Awsome Peeps,

Jocey

Follow me on Twitter

Add me on Instagram

Follow me on BlogLovin

4 thoughts on “Food Blog: Coconut Chicken Strips!

Leave a Reply

