I’ve Been Plopping!

Howdy Peeps! Thanks for joining me once again, I hope you are all well.

As most of you know from my previous blogs, I have a hard time styling my frizzy, 2b-2c curls. My hair tends to be more wavy than curly, but above all, frizzy. I have tried many different products and techniques but recently I decided to give “hair plopping” a try. If you’d like to learn more, please keep scrolling 🙂

You might be wondering “what the heck is plopping”? It is pretty much what it sounds like, it is a technique for curly hair in which you gently plop all your hair on the top of your head and let it set that way. This allows for better curl formation, les frizz  and more volume. 

I have tried plopping 2 different ways: 1-Overnight and 2-Quick. Both techniques start off the same, by washing and conditioning your hair, detangling and saturating your hair in your choice of product.

For overnight plopping, you will need whatever hair styling products you prefer (curl cream, gel, mouse, etc) and a large cotton t-shirt.

Once you have washed, conditioned and detangled your hair, you will want to apply whatever product you like to set your curls in. My favorite has been this Shea Moisture Manuka Honey & Mafura Oil Intensive Hydration Hair Masque:

  

It is very thick and rich; almost like a body butter but for your hair. I have been using this masque about twice a week since I bought it in late December and have only used about 1/8 of the jar:

  

This stuff smell amazing! It reminds me of brown sugar and figs. A little of this goes a long way so you may want to use it sparingly if you have very fine curls. I rake it through my damp hair as thoroughly as possible and make sure to coat it well. My hair is dry and soaks this stuff up without having any greasy residue.

Once I am done applying the mask, I lay out my tshirt (which, depending on your hair length, shoulde be anywhere from an XL-2X). I flip my hair forward and gently gather my hair in the center of the tshirt and begin to wrap it up. I used This YouTube Video for directions which begin around the 1:00 minute mark. Once my hair is wrapped, it looks like this:
 

Once my hair is wrapped, I go to bed. Oddly enough, this is not uncomfortable for me to sleep on since the back and sides are relatively flat. I do get a few crack about looking like Aunt Jemaima but that ok.

This is what my hair looks like after about 12 hours of being wrapped (video):
  
  It is still about 15%-20% damp since I use a very thick shirt but my curls have set nicely as if I had used a gel or mousse, bouncy but with a slightly firm cast around the curls.  

This is what it looks like when it is dry:
  

It is at this point that I add any hair oil or additional product for more hold; usually a little aloe vera gel on top for any frizz that might pop up. That’s it!

If I don’t have all night to wrap my hair, I will do a quick plop in which I repeat all the same steps but instead of wrapping my hair, I clip it on the top of my head like this:

  
This way it can still air dry without being in my face or creating friction by rubbing against my clothes or itself. I usually do this while I put on my makeup or do whatever I need to do around the house. Once I let down my hair, I do the same as above and apply some oil or whatever hair product I need to control any minor frizz.

This has been the best method for controlling frizz and defining my curls. I love that it is heatless and basically does itself LOL. I find that my curls last longer too. 

Have you tried hair plopping? What do you think? Do you have any questions? Please leave them below. How do you style curly/frizzy hair?

Stay Awesome Peeps,

Jocey

Folle me on Twitter

Add me on BlogLovin

Follow me on Instagram

*Not sponsored. All products and opinions are my own*

8 thoughts on “I’ve Been Plopping!

    1. The technique just allows your hair to dry while reducing friction. My frizz is never 100% tame but doing this really helps! I have never really had any products that can reduce frizz and stand up to friction as well.

      1. I’ve recently started using L’Oréal Pro Fiber range and that has reduced my frizz some what. But like your’s my hair is never frizz free 🙂

      2. haha 🙂 Have tried any of the new Lush hair products ? They have a hair cream called custard that’s very good at smoothing frizzy, dry hair.

      3. No I haven’t. My issue with Lush is that they make this awesome stuff and then but parabens into the mix…ugh! I’d have to check if this custard item has parabens or other questionable junk. Is it a favorite of yours?

Leave a Reply

