Natural Beauty Hack: Cacao Powder

Hello beautiful peeps! A very Happy Mother’s Day to all the moms out there. That includes pet mamas too!

Hope you are all doing well. I can’t believe it is still cold for some of you even though we are into May. Anyway, today’s post is about using Cacao for cosmetic purposes. If you’d like to know how I use Cacao powder on my face, and it’s not bronzer, just keep scrolling 🤗

Ever buy a powder foundation or a BB/CC cream to have it be just slightly too light for you? Instead of going through the trouble of exchanging the product for a darker shade (which might turn out to be too dark), check your kitchen cupboards and bring out your Cacao powder.

   This light bulb went off in my head when I found myself with a product that was too light and recalled a very famous makeup brand that uses chocolate in their products. Figured, why not try? So I took a little bit of Cacao powder and mixed it with my powder foundation. Below, you can see the swatches:

The right (my middle finger) is the original, the left (my ring finger) has the Cacao powder mixed in.
Top has Cacao powder, bottom is the original foundation by itself

   
I know its kind of hard to tell a difference but I promise you, it is there. Taking a picture of the two foundations (original and mixed) doesn’t really  show the difference. At least not on the images from my iPhone.

   Perhaps, seeing it mixed into BB cream would help. Below is what that looked like:

Top has Cacao powder mixed in, bottom is original

 
 As you can tell, mixing in the Cacao powder, made it slightly darker and a bit less “warm” toned. I will say that adding the Cacao powder did not affect the coverage and it didn’t give, either the powder foundation nor the BB cream, a strong chocolatey aroma.

I used this Cacao Powder:


Which I bought at Vitamin Shoppe but it’s also available at Whole Foods and Vitacost.

Cacao powder is rich in anti-oxidants and though I can’t say I have seen a huge difference in my skin, it certainly hasn’t hurt my skin AND I use Cacao anyway for baking so it doesn’t go to waste.

I have not tried this with Cocoa powder or Carob powder so I have no idea if those would work the same. Also, I can’t give an exact measurement of how much to use because it all depends on your skin tone and how much you would need. My best advice is to start with a small amount and build up. When I say small, I mean a pinch! Also, it would be a good idea to only use a small amount of your original product and not mix Cacao powder into the whole thing. Not sure if doing so would affect the shelf life of your makeup plus you risk ruining all of your product.

What do you peeps think? Have you tried this before? If you do decide to try, do let me know how it works out!

Stay Awesome Peeps,

Jocey

Follow me on Twitter

Add me on BlogLovin

Follow me on Instagram

*Not Sponsored. All products and opinions are my own.*

One thought on “Natural Beauty Hack: Cacao Powder

Leave a Reply

