Food Blog: Homemade Chia Seed Jam!

Happy Sunday Peeps!

   It has been a long time since I have done a food blog. I got so frustrated last week when I was looking for good jam or jelly to use with breakfast. Everything I could find at the market was loaded with sugar, high fructose corn syrup and/or preservatives. I don’t understand what is so hard about getting wholesome jam! Furthermore, if you find a decent one, prepare to pay over $10 for a small jar. 

   This motivated me to search online and try to come up with my own recipe based on what I had available. I came up with this Mixed Berry Chia Seed Jam. It was a success at home and at my job so I decided I would share with you all.



Ingredients
:

1/4 cup of Blueberries 

1/4 cup of Raspberries

2 Tbsp of Goji berries

1 tsp of lemon juice

3/4 tsp of honey (or agave for vegans)

1 tsp of Chia seeds

2-3 drop of Vanilla extract

1 Small glass jar with lid

1 Small sauce pan with lid

1 Spoon

Steps:

Place your saucepan over low heat on the stove. I usually set mine around 3-4 but not any higher.

Wash berries and place whole berries directly into sauce pan

Add lemon juice 

Cover and let sit for 4-5 minutes 

Uncover and stir to break up the berries. 

Add honey, turn off the heat and add chia seeds and vanilla extract, stir to combine.

Let the jam sit, uncovered, for another 5 minutes and then spoon into your jar.

Consume immediately or store in the fridge, once it cools to room temperature,  for up to two weeks.

Substitutions:

You can substitute the honey for equivalent amount of agave or sugar if you want a vegan jam. If your berries are very sweet, you can omit the sweetner altogether.

Use any berries you’d like (blackberries, strawberries) but keep the measurements the same. 

Vanilla extract is optional but it gives the jam a bit more complex flavor and enhances the natural sweetness of the berries. I use a good quality organic one not the cheap crap that is loaded with corn syrup.

Chia seed cannot really be substituted as it is what gives this jam it’s thick consistency. With out the chia seed, it is more of a sauce than a jam. 

Notes

You may blend the mixture to have a smoother jam especially since the Goji berries will not break apart the way raspberries and blueberries do.   

I used all organic berries but you don’t have to. You can use whatever berries you’d like.

This recipe makes about 1/2 cup of jam (4 ounces) you can easily double this recipe if you would like more.

I hope you peeps give this recipe a try. It is really easy to make and tastes really good. I had to make a second batch 2 days after the first one because it was all consumed. My favorite way to enjoy this jam has been over almond butter on a gluten free waffle…MmmMmm!


Stay Awesome Peeps,

Jocey

Add me on BlogLovin

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Instagram

5 thoughts on “Food Blog: Homemade Chia Seed Jam!

Leave a Reply

