Paleo Spiced Hot Chocolate

Hello Peeps!

So today is the first day that I have ever experienced snow. I was so excited, I jumped out of bed, suited up and went outside to walk in around in the fresh white powder. Once I was ready to go inside, I wanted a nice hot beverage and decided to make a hot chocolate.

I’m currently doing a No Sugar Challenge for the month of January so I was thinking of how to make a sugar free but warm and delicious hot chocolate. This is what I came up with, sorry for the repeat picture from Insta:

 

Ingredients (makes 2 servings):

3 tsp coconut oil

1 Tbsp  Cacao Powder

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp ground turmeric or ginger ( I used powdered but you can use grated-fresh)

a pinch of pumpkin pie spice

2 Tbsp of Honey (use maple syrup for vegan)

12 oz of Unsweetened Almond Milk (you can use any nut milk)

1 Star Anise

1/2 a Cinnamon stick

*optional- I also added a small splash of organic vanilla extract. This, of course, is not paleo, but it is delicious

Steps:

Heat all the ingredients (except for the milk, cinnamon stick and star anise),  in a small pot on low, until all the oil melts and the ingredients combine. Pour in your choice of milk, star anise and cinnamon stick and bring to a simmer. When ready it because nice and bubbly, it is ready to be poured into your mug and enjoyed. I used my frother to make the foam. You can feel free to top this with coconut whipped cream, regular whipped cream or marshmallows (though it would not be paleo unless you whipped the coconut cream yourself). I didn’t top it with anything and I still found it delicious.

 

I hope you peeps enjoyed this recipe and I hope you are all keeping warm and off to a great weekend!

Stay Awesome Peeps,

Jocey

My Tweets

My Insta

My BlogLovin’

2 thoughts on “Paleo Spiced Hot Chocolate

Leave a Reply

